A Letter To Those With A Mental Illness

Dear You (I’m sorry I don’t know your name),

This is just a short letter to share a few of my thoughts with you from someone else who has a mental illness. I know this might seem strange as I’ve never met you but I feel sure there are things we can both relate to and I hope some of the things I talk about are among them.

The first thing I want to say to you is that no matter what you feel, you are not alone. You may already realise this and if that’s the case then I’m glad. If you don’t realise this now then please know that whatever you’re facing you don’t have to deal with it alone no matter how it may feel. There may be times when it feels like you are on your own but that is what the mental illnesses want us to believe in their fight to conquer us. They are however lying to us. There are so many places to get support. Please don’t give up on that.

The next thing I want to say may be slightly controversial and definitely hard to believe. It is that mental illness has some positives. I personally have made some of my best friends as a result of having my mental illness. It has led to me meeting them. Don’t get me wrong, mental illness can be devastating but it has taught me so much as well. I would never wish mental illness on anyone but there have been some good things that have come from it.

Another thing I wish to share with you is to say that recovery may not happen as you expect it. I believe recovery is possible (I do have days when it’s harder to believe this so totally understand if you don’t believe in it) but I also believe it takes many ups and downs to get there. I believe it’s not a straight forward process and that slip ups will happen along the way but that it is possible. If you don’t believe in recovery now then obviously that’s fine, but I hope you believe and see it someday soon as I believe in it for you.

One last thing I want to say to you is this: don’t keep quiet. Sharing your story, asking for help or discussing your mental illness in anyway can only be good. You may get negative comments from some people but those people are not worth your time and need educating. For every negative comment there will be a positive somewhere along the way.

Remember you’re awesome for carrying on the fight. Keep Strong.

Yours

Another person with a mental illness.

 

2 thoughts on “A Letter To Those With A Mental Illness

Leave a Reply

